Rebecca Fremo Receives Edgar M. Carlson Award

Posted on June 2nd, 2013 by

Associate Professor Rebecca Fremo

Associate Professor Rebecca Fremo

Associate Professor and Chair of the English Department at Gustavus Adolphus College Rebecca Fremo, received the 2013 Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching during the College’s commencement exercises on Sunday, June 2. Fremo was presented the award by the 2012 recipient, Associate Professor of Political Science Alisa Rosenthal.

Fremo began teaching at Gustavus in 2000 after earning her Ph.D. in English from Ohio State University. She directed the College’s Writing Center for 11 years and also served as the director of the Writing Across the Curriculum program. She teaches a wide range of courses, including Writing Creative Nonfiction, Academic Writing, and Adolescent Literature and Literacy. Her areas of expertise include literacy studies and rhetoric and composition. In addition to editing textbooks, publishing numerous articles, chapters, and reviews, she is also the author of Chasing Northern Lights, a collection of poems published in 2012.

Students who nominated Fremo for the Carlson Award made the following comments about her:

“Professor Fremo takes the time to work with students and care for them, not only for the grade they need in the class, but the potential development opportunities that could shape their futures.”

“Professor Fremo has shaped my future in a way that made me not only challenge what I think I already know, but to explore and accept what I don’t know.”

“Professor Fremo not only understands the struggles that multicultural students go through, but tries at every opportunity to bring other professors greater awareness of it as well.”

The Edgar M. Carlson Award was established by the Gustavus Board of Trustees in 1971 to honor former President Edgar Carlson for his years of distinguished leadership and in recognition of his commitment to academic excellence. Gustavus faculty, staff, administrators, and students nominate professors for this award, and each year at commencement a faculty member, selected by the Provost based on the recommendations of previous Carlson recipients, is awarded for their exceptional skill and effectiveness as an instructor.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.