Thirty-Nine Students to be Inducted into Phi Beta Kappa

Posted on April 30th, 2013 by

Phi Beta Kappa LogoThirty-nine juniors and seniors at Gustavus Adolphus College will be inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society, on Thursday, May 2 in the Three Crowns Room. The ceremony is open to invited guests only.

The Gustavus chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the Eta chapter of Minnesota, was approved in 1982 and formally chartered in April 1983. Students who have excelled in the study of liberal arts are elected each year by a faculty committee of local chapter members. Election criteria include a record of high achievement in liberal arts courses and majors, competency in math and foreign language, and demonstration of a love of learning as evidenced by the depth and breadth of a student’s college career.

The following students will be inducted on Thursday:

Hallee C. Adamsheck, Minnetonka, Minn.
Erik G. Anderson, Appleton, Wis.
Meredith K. Bache-Wiig, Plymouth, Minn.
Lydia J. Benge Briggs, Grantsburg, Wis.
Katherine C. Bischoff, West St. Paul, Minn.
Zachary H. Blinkinsop, London, England
Andrea K. Blom, Byron, Minn.
Nicole C. Bowar, Rice, Minn.
Elizabeth A. Brauer, Cottage Grove, Minn.
Karl J. Brudvig, North Oaks, Minn.
Matthew J. Bye, Minnetonka, Minn.
Kristen R. Campbell, Excelsior, Minn.
Rachel M. Chase, Chatfield, Minn.
Alexander J. Christensen, Minneapolis, Minn.
Dawn E. Comstock, Roseau, Minn.
Claire E. Curran, Lake Forest, Ill.
Kyle C. Edelbrock, St. Cloud, Minn.
Hannah M. Engel, St. Anthony, Minn.
Kirstin M. Erickson, St. Cloud, Minn.
Kevin E. Fortuna, Kalama, Wash.
Samantha J. Good, St. Peter, Minn.
Andrei H. Hahn, St. Charles, Ill.
Eric T. Halvorson, West Fargo, ND
Kayla E. Hanson, Apple Valley, Minn.
Rachel E. Johnson, Minneapolis, Minn.
Taylor M. Logeais, Minnetonka, Minn.
Kristen E. Montijo, Colorado Springs, Col.
Andrea L. Morgan, St. Peter, Minn.
Anna K. Morton, Edina, Minn.
Suzanne E. Mundhenke, Duluth, Minn.
Evan J. Odean, Duluth, Minn.
Trevor J. Oestenstad, Minnetonka, Minn.
Cassandra E. Quam, Lombard, Ill.
Janella K. Reiswig, Bismarck, ND
Julia L. Tindell, Apple Valley, Minn.
Tuan A. Tran, Hanoi, Vietnam
Allyson N. Voss, Wausau, Wis.
Avery L. Wallace, Madison, Wis.
Megan J. Wika, Blaine, Minn.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest academic honor society. It has chapters at 280 institutions and more than half a million members throughout the country. Its mission is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, to recognize academic excellence, and to foster freedom of thought and expression. Among its programs are academic and literary awards, lectureships, a fellowship, a professorship, and publication of The American Scholar, an award-winning quarterly journal.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.