Three Employees to be Honored on Founders Day

Posted on October 30th, 2012 by

Randall Stuckey

Three members of the Gustavus Adolphus College community will be honored during the Friday, Nov. 2 daily chapel service at 10 a.m. as recipients of the College’s annual outstanding employee awards. The awards will be given out in conjunction with Founders Day, which recognizes the dedication of Old Main on Oct. 31, 1876.

Randall Stuckey, Director of Alumni Relations, will receive the 2012 Eric Norelius Award, given annually to an outstanding administrative employee who has demonstrated exceptional service and dedication to the College. Stuckey is a 1983 graduate of the College, who joined the administration as Assistant Alumni Director in 1985. In 1990 he was promoted to Associate Alumni Director and then in 1994 was promoted to his current position of Director of Alumni Relations. In addition to his work in Alumni Relations, Stuckey has also served as an assistant golf coach in Athletics.

Philly Kauffmann

Philly Kauffmann, Administrative Assistant in Alumni Relations, will receive the 2012 Augusta Carlson Schultz Award, which is presented annually to a support staff employee who exemplifies outstanding dedication and spirit of service. Kauffman has worked at Gustavus since 1980.

Professor of Physics Dr. Chuck Niederriter will receive the 2012 Faculty Service Award, given annually to a faculty member whose service has improved the College. Dr. Niederriter joined the Gustavus faculty in 1985 and since then has taught virtually every course that the Physics Department offers, from introductory courses to upper level courses. His areas of expertise include applied physics, astrophysics, condensed matter physics, and surface science. He has served as Director of the College’s Nobel Conference since 2008, and is just the third individual to hold that title following in the footsteps of Chaplain Richard Elvee (1965-2000) and Dr. Timothy Robinson (2000-2008).

Dr. Chuck Niederriter

Recipients of the Norelius Award, Schultz Award, and Faculty Service Award are nominated and chosen by Gustavus co-workers.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


One Comment

  1. Ann Volk says:

    Congratulations to three great members of the Gustavus Community! We are lucky to have you here in all that you do for Gustavus and the entire St. Peter community! Thank you!