Sophomore Sandy Xiong Named a Phillips Scholar

Posted on April 5th, 2012 by

Sandy Xiong '14

Gustavus Adolphus College sophomore Sandy Xiong has been named a Jay and Rose Phillips Scholar for 2012-14. Xiong was one of six Minnesota college students named a Phillips Scholar this year out of 16 finalists.

The Phillips Scholars Program recognizes and rewards Minnesota private college students who strive to make life better for people with unmet needs in Minnesota communities. The program supports potential leaders with outstanding academic credentials who intend to dedicate a portion of their lives to community service. Students from 16 eligible private colleges and universities are invited to apply for one of six $16,500 awards given annually.

Xiong will receive a $6,000 scholarship for her junior year, a $6,000 scholarship for her senior year, a $4,000 summer stipend to support the development and implementation of a self-designed service project to address unmet needs in Minnesota communities, and a $500 award to fund project resources.

Xiong, a native of Maplewood, Minn., and a psychology major at Gustavus, plans to use her award to create an online magazine to enable Hmong teens all across the country to submit artwork and writing for publication as a way to empower them to pursue education and prevent them from gang involvement and youth violence.

“It is certainly a prestigious award and I feel greatly honored to have been granted such an esteemed opportunity,” Xiong said. “I am definitely looking forward to working more closely with other leaders to positively impact the Hmong youth community while instilling important values that are dear to me.”

At Gustavus, Xiong works as a staff writer for the student newspaper, the Gustavian Weekly, and also serves as a tutor in the College’s writing center. She is also a part of the Collegiate Fellow staff at Pittman residential hall and is involved in Gusties In Ongoing Leadership (G.O.L.D.) as a team member.

Xiong is the 11th Gustavus student since 1998 to be named a Phillips Scholar. Previous recipients include Melanie (Larson) Sinouthasy (1998), Sara Imholte (2001), Noah Johnson (2002), Linda Lee (2003), Zong Xiong (2004), Ma Lee Vang (2005), Nhung Le (2006), Ashley Gibbs (2007), Laura Jensen (2009), and Irma Marquez (2010).


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


One Comment

  1. josephalbert says: