Dugdale Receives Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award

Posted on May 10th, 2011 by

Eric Dugdale

Eric Dugdale, associate professor of classics at Gustavus Adolphus College, received the 2011 Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award on May 7 at the College’s Honors Day Convocation.

Faculty members are nominated for the award by fellow faculty members based on professional accomplishments regarding research activities in private, public, or corporate settings; publication; presentations at scholarly meetings or conferences; and exhibits or performances.

Dugdale holds degrees from Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and the University of North Carolina. He has recently published two books: a translation and commentary on Sophocles’ Electra, and Greek Theatre in Context, both with Cambridge University Press. Dugdale is also co-editing, along with colleague James Morwood, a series titled Greece and Rome: Texts and Contexts. The series aims to make classics accessible to undergraduate students.

Dugdale serves on the Education Committee of the American Philological Association and is also participating in Ancient Greeks/Modern Lives, a nationwide initiative spearheaded by Peter Meineck of the New York-based Aquila Theatre Company. The initiative places live theatrical events, reading groups, and lectures in community libraries and cultural centers to inspire people to come together to read, see, and think about classical literature and how it continues to influence and invigorate American cultural life.

First awarded in 1986, the Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award was reestablished in 2004 and is now announced during the annual Honors Day Convocation.

Previous Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award winners:

2010: Peg O’Connor, Philosophy and Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
2009: Eric Carlson, History; Barbara Fister, Library
2008: Linnea Wren, Art History
2007: Chris Gilbert, Political Science
2006: Mark Kruger, Pyschology
2005: Michael Hvidsten, Mathematics/Computer Science
2004: Joyce Sutphen, English
1990: Tom Emmert, History
1989: Rich Hilbert, Sociology/Anthropology; Marlene Flory, Classics
1988: Lawrence Potts, Chemistry; Stewart Flory, Classics; Ann Brady, English
1987: Byron Nordstrom, History; William Dean, Religion; Ron Christenson, Political Science
1986: Conrad Hyers, Religion


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.