Brammer Receives Edgar M. Carlson Award

Posted on May 31st, 2010 by

Rick Orpen presents the 2010 Edgar M. Carlson Award to Leila Brammer. (Photo by John Noltner)

Leila Brammer, Associate Professor of Communication Studies at Gustavus Adolphus College, received the 2010 Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching during the College’s commencement exercises on Sunday, May 30. Brammer was presented the award by the 2009 recipient, Professor of Music Rick Orpen.

A member of the communication studies department since 1997, Brammer holds a B.A. from Northern State Unviersity, an M.A. from Northern Illinois University, and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota. Her scholarly work has focused on social movements, rhetoric and argument, and civic engagement. She is the author of Excluded from Suffrage History: Matilda Joslyn Gage, Nineteenth Century American Feminist.

Since arriving at Gustavus she has taught an array of courses including rhetorical criticism, feminist criticism, and public discourse. Brammer was also the driving force behind the significant curricular change in the communication studies department which saw the course Public Speaking changed to Public Discourse with an emphasis on civic engagement.

One faculty colleague said “this new course represents a clear articulation of the Gustavus mission, blending excellence in education with the opportunity for students to truly embrace their individual potential by way of leadership and service in their community.” Another colleague during the nominating process stated that “Lee emphasizes the importance of reaching every student, especially those who are struggling.” A Gustavus student wrote that “Lee is the most fair, caring, entertaining, intelligent, and encouraging professor I have had at Gustavus.”

The Edgar M. Carlson Award was established by the Gustavus Board of Trustees in 1971 to honor former president Edgar Carlson for his years of distinguished leadership and in recognition of his commitment to academic excellence. Gustavus faculty, staff, administrators, and students nominate professors for this award, and each year at commencement a faculty member, selected by previous Carlson recipients, is awarded for their exceptional skill and effectiveness as an instructor.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.