Eric Carlson Receives Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching

Posted on May 29th, 2016 by

Dr. Eric Carlson

Dr. Eric Carlson

Gustavus Adolphus College Professor of History Eric Carlson received the 2016 Edgar M. Carlson Award for Distinguished Teaching at the College’s commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 29. Carlson was presented with the honor by his departmental colleague and 2015 recipient of the award, Associate Professor of History, Environmental Studies, and Japanese Studies David Obermiller.

A member of the Gustavus faculty since 1990, Carlson teaches courses on European history that focus on medieval and Tudor-Stuart England, Medieval Christianity, the Reformation, European Jewish history, and Modern Germany. He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from UCLA before completing his doctorate at Harvard University in 1987. The author of three books and numerous articles and essays, Carlson was recognized with the Gustavus Faculty Scholarly Achievement Award in 2009.

“What I hope my students learn from me is to always ask questions. I want all of my students – even if they just take one class from me – to leave remembering that they should always believe in the possibility of change,” Carlson said.

Students who nominated Carlson for the teaching award made the following comments about him:

“His investment in education for himself and his students shows through his enthusiasm in and out of the classroom and in his willingness to go the extra mile to assist students in pursuing research that is of interest, whether that be discussing a topic or assisting in locating source materials.”

“He truly inspired me as a student to be excellent, creative, and enthusiastic about learning.”

“In his classes, he instills a spirit of confidence and curiosity for every student in the room. He allows students to engage in learning and discussion themselves, talking with one another and asking questions…”

“His ability to accept us for who we are and inspire us to be the best we can be is an invaluable quality.”

The Edgar M. Carlson Award was established by the Gustavus Board of Trustees in 1971 to honor former President Edgar Carlson for his years of distinguished leadership and in recognition of his commitment to academic excellence. Gustavus faculty, staff, administrators, and students nominate professors for this award, and each year at commencement a faculty member, selected by the Provost based on the recommendations of previous award recipients, is honored for their exceptional skill and effectiveness as an instructor.

“The Department of History puts so much emphasis on outstanding teaching that my colleagues inspire me every day,” Carlson said. “Between them and the students who inspire me by their enthusiasm, it feels like a group effort. It’s incredibly gratifying to be recognized with the Edgar M. Carlson Award.”

Recent Carlson Award Recipients

2015: David Obermiller, History
2014: Matt Panciera, Classics
2013: Rebecca Fremo, English
2012: Alisa Rosenthal, Political Science
2011: Barbara Zust, Nursing
2010: Leila Brammer, Communication Studies
2009: Rick Orpen, Music
2008: Richard Leitch, Political Science
2007: Claude Brew, English
2006: Paul Saulnier, Physics
2005: Rob Gardner, Theatre and Dance
2004: Lisa Heldke, Philosophy
2003: Cindy Johnson, Biology
2002: Max Hailperin, Mathematics and Computer Science
2001: Gretchen Hofmeister, Chemistry
2000: Eric Eliason, English

A full list of past Carlson Award winners dating back to 1971 is available online.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication Luc Hatlestad


One Comment

  1. Gerard Saylor, '93. says:

    Congratulations to Prof. Carlson. I took a class with him in ’91 or ’92. I still recall some of his lectures.