Looking Ahead to the 50th Nobel Conference

Posted on June 26th, 2014 by

Nobel 50 Square LogoFor fifty years, the Nobel Conference at Gustavus Adolphus College has hosted preeminent scientists, theologians, and ethicists to discuss deep questions at the intersection of science and society. This October, Gustavus will celebrate a half century of bringing breakthrough science to lay audiences in the upper Midwest, across the country, and more recently around the world. The 50th annual Nobel Conference: Where Does Science Go From Here?, scheduled for October 7-8, 2014, will assemble previous Nobel Conference participants to look at recent advances and future directions in the physical sciences, evolutionary biology and ecology, medicine and physiology, and the intersection of science and public policy.

Tickets for the 50th Nobel Conference are currently on sale and can be purchased online at gustavustickets.com or by phone at 507-933-7520. Reserved tickets are $115 per person, while general admission tickets are available for $70 per person. High schools and college delegations can purchase a group of 10 tickets for $50.

Invited speakers include:

  • Sean B. Carroll, professor of molecular biology, genetics, and medical genetics, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • Steven Chu, 1997 Nobel laureate in physics; former U.S. Secretary of Energy under President Obama; William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Humanities & Sciences and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology at Stanford University
  • Patricia Smith Churchland, UC President’s Professor of Philosophy Emerita, University of California, San Diego
  • António Damásio, University Professor and David Dornsife Professor of Neuroscience, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
  • Freeman Dyson, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, N.J.
  • W. Gary Ernst, Benjamin M. Page Professor Emeritus, Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Stanford University
  • Harry B. Gray, Arnold O. Beckman Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
  • Sir Harold W. Kroto, 1996 Nobel laureate in chemistry; Francis Eppes Professor of Chemistry, Florida State University
  • Svante Pääbo, director, Department of Genetics, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Leipzig, Germany
  • Steven Weinberg, 1979 Nobel laureate in physics; Jack S. Josey-Welch Foundation  Regents Chair in Science, University of Texas at Austin
  • Jennifer L. West, Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering, Duke University

The Nobel Conference, the first ongoing educational conference of its kind in the United States to receive the official authorization of the Nobel Foundation, is made possible through the generous support of Drell and Adeline Bernhardson, major legacy gifts, and annual contributors.



Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.