Gustavus Adolphus College Alumni Receive National Awards

Posted on December 6th, 2005 by

Four Gustavus Adolphus College graduates have been recognized with Honorable Mention as part of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program for 2005. They are:

  • Leslie Brandt, a 2002 graduate from Sheboygan, Wis., with a biology major, is studying at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.
  • Claire Poppe, a 2005 graduate from Appleton, Wis., with a chemistry major, is studying at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Kelly Younge, a 2005 graduate from Rochester, Minn., with a physics major, is studying at the University of Michigan.
  • Laura Yudt, a 2001 graduate from Valparaiso, Ind., with a biology major, is studying at Duke University.

The program, one of NSF’s oldest with roots in the foundation’s original charter in 1950, provides three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based master’s or doctoral degrees in all scientific disciplines. Those applicants who merit receiving Graduate Research Fellowships but to whom awards cannot be made because funds are not available are accorded Honorable Mention. Honorable Mention in the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship program is considered a significant academic achievement nationwide. Approximately 10,000 applications were received with 1,024 students receiving awards and 1,993 receiving Honorable Mention.

The National Science Foundation seeks to reinforce scientific diversity and establish a firm resource base in science, mathematics, and engineering in the United States. Fellowships are offered annually to outstanding students in mathematics, physics, biology, engineering, and behavioral and social sciences.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.