Founders Day Honors Gustavus Heritage, Outstanding Employees

Scott Meyer, Heather Dale, and Dr. Tom LoFaro received 2019 outstanding employee awards at Daily Sabbath.
Posted on October 31st, 2019 by

Dr. Tom Lofaro, Campus Safety Officer Scott Meyer, and Director of Health Service and Assistant Dean of Students Heather Dale.

Math professor Dr. Tom Lofaro, Campus Safety Officer Scott Meyer, and Director of Health Service and Assistant Dean of Students Heather Dale.

On this day 143 years ago, Old Main was officially dedicated as the first building on Gustavus Adolphus College’s Saint Peter, Minn., campus. Today, the Gustavus community celebrates Founders Day, an annual commemoration that marks the anniversary of Old Main’s opening and recognizes three outstanding employees for their service to the College.

At the daily chapel service, President Rebecca M. Bergman gave a homily focusing on the growth and progress of the College throughout the years—including a reference to Phase II of the Nobel Hall expansion and renovation project taking place outside the southwest windows of Christ Chapel—as well as a deep and abiding sense of gratitude. Bergman shared the story of one of her former pastors, Rev. Jerry Hoffman ’59, who regularly answered the routine question “How are you?” with a simple and profound response: “I am grateful.” She encouraged the gathered Gusties to intentionally seek and share their gratitude for the good things in their lives. Then, Bergman expressed the College’s gratitude to this year’s winners of Gustavus employee awards:

Scott Meyer is the 2019 winner of the Augusta Carlson Schultz Award, which recognizes an outstanding support staff employee who has demonstrated exceptional service and dedication to the College. Named in honor of one of the first employees of the Gustavus Dining Service in the late 1800s, the Augusta Carlson Schultz award winners exemplify the dedication and spirit of service of the support staff who continue to contribute to the success of the College. A campus safety officer since 1998, Meyer is described by colleagues as kind-hearted, helpful, and a hard worker who navigates the many responsibilities of working in campus safety with tact and wisdom while serving as a listening ear to all who need a friend or confidant.

President Bergman applauds the 2019 employee award winners.

President Bergman applauds the 2019 employee award winners.

Heather Dale has been named the 2019 winner of the Erik Norelius Award for the Outstanding Administrative Employee. The award, named for the College’s founder and first teacher, honors an administrative employee who exemplifies the vision, dedication, and service shown by Norelius. A Gustavus employee since 2008, Dale serves as the Director of Health Service and Assistant Dean of Students and is responsible for promoting and providing quality health care and education while enhancing healthy lifestyles. In recent years, her office has expanded offerings to include employee health services, led the charge on ensuring that all Gustavus students are covered by health insurance, secured multiple grants to improve services, and increased mental health support through a partnership with Learn to Live.

Dr. Tom LoFaro is the recipient of the 2019 Faculty Service Award, the College’s highest recognition for distinguished service activities across campus. A member of the Gustavus community since 2000, LoFaro serves as the Clifford M. Swanson Professor of Mathematics. Among other things, he has served as the director of the Rydell Professorship, as a College Harassment Grievance Officer, as chair and co-chair of the Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics, and on numerous faculty committees and working groups. Most recently, he served as co-chair of the college curriculum committee throughout the development and implementation of the Gustavus Acts Strategic Plan and as a faculty representative on the academic affairs committee of the Gustavus Board of Trustees. LoFaro, who holds a doctorate from Boston University, will serve as the co-chair of the 2021 Nobel Conference, which will focus on the proliferation of “big data” and its ethical implications.

“Thank you, Scott, Heather, and Tom, for your devotion to the gift of service,” Bergman said. “Let’s all honor these well deserving recipients of our 2019 service awards once more with our enthusiastic acclaim and with hearts filled with gratitude for their presence in our community.”


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication Luc Hatlestad


Comments are closed.