Judy Douglas Honored by the BACCHUS Network

Posted on December 13th, 2007 by

Judy Douglas has been addressing alcohol-related issues on campus since 1980.

Judy Douglas has been addressing alcohol-related issues on campus since 1980.

For the fifth time in her 27-year career at Gustavus Adolphus College, Judy Douglas was named Outstanding Advisor of the Year by the BACCHUS (Boosting Alcohol Consciousness Concerning the Health of University Students) Network — a university and community-based network focused on comprehensive health and safety initiatives.

Douglas was one of five advisors to receive the award at the network’s National General Assembly on Nov. 10 in Atlanta, Ga.

Douglas, the Director of Alcohol and Drug Education at Gustavus, is credited with pioneering the Peer Assistants program on campus. The mission of the Peer Assistants, or P.A.’s as they are known on campus, is to identify student needs, coordinate ideas and suggestions, and assemble information programs that support the campus community in matters concerning alcohol, drug, and lifestyle issues.

The P.A.’s strive to support and encourage individual responsibility and highlight the positive choices Gustavus students are making regarding alcohol and other lifestyle issues. The group also promotes alcohol-free social options and programming by coordinating with other campus groups.

“For over 20 years, Judy has devoted her life to making a difference in the lives of young people at Gustavus,” current P.A. and senior Dana Friedline said. “She has demonstrated an unwavering dedication to ensuring that the Gustavus community is safe, healthy, and balanced.”

Through Douglas’ leadership, the P.A.’s sponsor numerous educational programs and events throughout the academic year, including the Be a Buddy program, the Do You Ask? campaign, Health and Safety Week, Sexual Responsibility Week, the Angel Tree project, and Midnight Express.

This year’s group of P.A.’s includes seniors Friedline, Alicia Bloomquist, Ali Chorley, Barbara Guy, Katie LeBlanc, Stephanie Lewis, and Elliot Saltzman; juniors Erin Fredrick, Luke Garrison, Gretchen Libbey, Kristin Mummert, and Jason Pitt; and sophomores Ross Elenkiwich, Shane Jensen, Jonathan Kidd, Adam Strand, and Jen Syverson.


Media Contact: Director of Media Relations and Internal Communication JJ Akin


Comments are closed.